The Things Between Our Legs


Young man,
I sit by the midwife’s couch
And wait for you to show me where your superiority was born.

I want to see when you became more equal,
to hold it and smell it.
To wrap it around myself.

I want to be taught the maths of worth.
How a human is made invisible, how a woman disappears,
how oppression evolves, how sacrifice is undone.

Could it be when I carried your father for inside me for nine long months?
Weathering Morning sickness, Malaria, Anaemia and HIV?

Or was it while I walked two kilometres without food or water through a pain that defies words to squat on this couch and push you out?

It can’t be while I nursed you at my breast,
Fed you from my body for twenty four.

Aha! It was when you became a man.

When you no longer needed a napkin change,

When you learnt how to blow your nose,

When my pots were empty and my grain had fed you fat,

When your muscles rippled as you walked,

When you were old enough to work, and you had discovered the thing between your legs could put urine in bottles,

And forgot the thing between mine had borne you.

18 thoughts on “The Things Between Our Legs

  1. Oh my! This is awesome!

    “When you were old enough to work, and you had discovered the thing between your legs could put urine in bottles,

    And forgot the thing between mine had borne you.”

    Totally on point! I don’t know why we have it backwards, but IF any gender should be superior to the other, it should be the female. And I don’t say this as a female. It’s just obvious. Or should be.

  2. This is very very splendid. I took my time to read, and its absolutely worth the wait.

    Hail ye mothers. Pray we sons won’t get carried away with the thing between our legs and not appreciate that between your legs that brought us forth.

  3. First off I would like to say superb blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind.

    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your
    mind before writing. I’ve had difficulty clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out.
    I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10
    to 15 minutes are wasted simply just trying
    to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips?
    Appreciate it!

    • Wow.

      1. Sometimes i spend a lot of time just thinking about what i want t,o say first.

      2. Sometimes i just spill things out and edit later (when it has ‘cooled’).

      3. Thank you so much for teadjng my blog

      4. Send me an email or a DM on twitter let’s talk

Leave a comment